Motivation

Motivation is something many of us lack. Wether is to do work of any sort or it could be anything in general. People tend to be lazy a lot of the times and always try to find other easier ways to do it. I was one of those a while back. I lacked the motivation for many things. Wether it was to clean my room, do my homework, help around the house or work out. Since i was in elementary school i was never a lazy kid. I was always active ready to learn and so something new. In my Physical Education class i was always top of the class ready to do whatever i was told and not just do it, but do it right and consistantly. As for being clean and helpful i was young at the time so it was understandable. But it seems that as people age you would think they would become more clean and responsible but that not the way it seemed, at least not for me. I had the motivation to get up every day and go to school excited for the day to start and make something out of it and be the best i can be. Middle school is were many things changed. I became more active, atheltic, responsible and in some way clean. It wasnt like most of the time i wanted to be respinsible or clean or many of the things i did, but in fact i was forced to. Motivation is something you should bring upon yourself, self motivation to be exact. There has to be something in you that makes you want to do it but it seemed that it wasnt that way for me. I felt like i did the things i did because people depended on it and i felt i had no other choice but never because i wanted to. Im not quite sure if that is the way everyone felt but things just got worse from then on. As i moved on to high school. Priorities went everywhere but the right way. I didnt feel it anymore. I felt like school just wasnt for me and got lazy as can be. I never worked out or did homework or sometimes even show up to class. It seemed as motivation didnt exist in my world anymore. I would get home and just watch tv and play video games but never what i had to do. This didnt last long though. My brother was in the military for 8 years and since he was always gone it was like he didnt exist to me. I was to young to even to care or maybe i just didnt want to care. But for some odd reason he came for a visit on his last year before his release and i was at the age of 16. I was fully aware now of what he done and where hed been. It wasnt long before he realized how i was doing in school and he got upset and began questioning me. At first like any other teen would react i was stubborn and just try and make it seem like it was no big deal. He then let me on to the story of his high school experience and how he had to manage a night job while still going to school and help my mom out with 7 kids and still managed to graduate at top 10% of his class with a 3.77 GPA. I tried to show like i didnt care but inside i knew he was right and it as if i knew i was wrong the whole time but was just waiting for someone to let me know, like i needed someone to motivate me. I thought a lot of what he had told me and began to make small changes in my life. Soon enought small changes led to bigger changes and before you know it, i was attending class everyday, turning in homework, helping around the house and doing what had to be done with no questions asked. I began doing it at first for my brother, but i soon realized i was doing it for myself. How could my brother whom was gone for so long and i barely knew change my life like that. He gave me the motivation to do many of the things i do today. My life may not be perfect now, it may be far from it but i know that if it wasnt for him, who knows if i would even have a life. My brother never gives up and always pushes forward, he has one of the thoughest spirits that almost seems impossible to break. And that right there is the motivation i wake up with everyday… to be just like my brother.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment